8.G.2 – Demonstrating Rotational Symmettry

Home Forums Questions about the standards 7–12 Geometry 8.G.2 – Demonstrating Rotational Symmettry

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Silas Kulkarni
    Participant

I’m a math coach and I’ve been working with one of my teachers on 8.G.2 and we are hitting a bit of a wall.

Here’s the standard.
    Understand congruence and similarity using physical models, transparencies, or geometry software.

CCSS.Math.Content.8.G.A.2 Understand that a two-dimensional figure is congruent to another if the second can be obtained from the first by a sequence of rotations, reflections, and translations; given two congruent figures, describe a sequence that exhibits the congruence between them.

So the standard asks the students to understand that if one figure is, for example, a rotation of another figure then the two figures are congruent, and then to show a sequence that exhibits how you get from one to the other.

This has been fine for reflection and translation. But for rotation it seems much harder. The problem we’ve been having is that it seems hard to demonstrate that one figure is a rotation of another in a mathematically rigorous way. Specifically, you can usually tell that a figure is a rotation by looking at it (literally drawing it on a piece of paper and turning the paper), but how can you spell out the conditions that prove that?