Length Measurement in Grade 1 Blueprint

Home Forums Questions about the standards Illustrative Mathematics course blueprints Length Measurement in Grade 1 Blueprint

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    teachtucson

I am a curriculum designer who specializes in aiding teachers in designing curriculum maps and curriculum units. I have been using the progressions extensively. In the K–5 Geometric Measurement (page 9, paragraphs 3 & 4) states regarding manipulative standards units:

“Another important issue concerns the use of standard or nonstandard units of length. Many curricula or other instructional guides advise a sequence of instruction in which students compare lengths, measure with nonstandard units (e.g., paper clips), incorporate the use of manipulative standard units (e.g., inch cubes), and measure
    with a ruler. This approach is probably intended to help students see the need for standardization. However, the use of a variety of different length units,
    before students understand the concepts, procedures, and usefulness of measurement, may actually deter students’ development. Instead, students might learn to measure correctly with standard units, and even learn to use rulers, before they can
    successfully use nonstandard units and understand relationships between different units of measurement. To realize that arbitrary (and especially mixed-size) units result in the same length being described by different numbers, a student must reconcile the varying lengths and numbers of arbitrary units. Emphasizing nonstandard
    units too early may defeat the purpose it is intended to achieve. Early use of many nonstandard units may actually interfere with students’ development of basic measurement concepts required to understand the need for standard units. In contrast, using manipulative standard units, or even standard rulers, is less demanding and