Integers

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive

Hello! I was wondering if you could point me in the direction of any research on why operations with integers were taken out of Grade 6 standards? I am a math coach and several of my teachers would like some reason or some research about why operations with integers are not taught in grade 6.

Thanks so much,
    Adrienne

Bill McCallum
    Keymaster

We looked at many sources, including national reports, well-regarded state standards, and standards of high achieving countries. There is no agreement on where to put operations with integers. Singapore puts them in Grade 7. Massachusetts started with addition and subtraction in Grade 6, excluding subtraction of negative numbers. Curriculum Focal Points puts them in Grade 7. And so on.

As for research, the way you ask the question makes it sound as if you think that the placement of operations with integers in Grade 6 is itself research-based. But is it? How would you design a research experiment to determine the correct grade placement of operations with integers, or any other topic? Doesn’t it depend on what else you are doing in Grade 6, and what you have been doing in Grades 1–5, and what you plan to do in Grades 7–12? The research would have to look at the entire sets of standards. There has been some such research, for example the research of William Schmidt and Richard Houang, but they don’t have conclusions about specific grade level placement of specific topics. Rather they address large scale properties of the standards, such as coherence. My guess is that you could have a coherent set of standards which places operations with integers in Grade 6 and one which doesn’t; and you could have an incoherent curricula which do the same two things. The important thing is not the exact grade level placement but the coherence.

Anonymous
    Inactive