Clustering?

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    jrhiglenn
    Participant

I am an 8th grade math teacher.  I have a question on one standard that I believe I have finally found the answer to but still question why it has been written as it has.
    8th Grade Stats and Probability
    8.SP.1. Construct and interpret scatter plots for bivariate measurement data to investigate patterns of association between two quantities. Describe patterns such as clustering, outliers, positive or negative association, linear association, and nonlinear association.

The question is this.  What is clustering supposed to mean?
    I have taught stats at the high school level. I have taken two college level stats classes. I have read numerous research papers.  I have searched the internet for the meaning of this term.  I believe I have finally found the answer.  The Math in Focus 8th grade text book uses this term to discuss the position of data points on a graph to the line of fit.
    I believe that including this term in the standards as it is makes it sound like it is a term used in the field of statistics.  But as I said, in my experience and review of “things statistical” I cannot find anything besides this text which uses it that way.
    Please let me know if and where I am in error in my thinking.

Cathy Kessel
    Participant

It sounds as if you’ve been looking for a term from statistics rather than statistics education. An analogue: the CCSS uses terms from mathematics education that are not used in mathematics (e.g., “counting on,” “add within 20”).