5th grade Mixed Number addition & subtraction–regrouping

Home Forums Questions about the standards 3–5 Fractions 5th grade Mixed Number addition & subtraction–regrouping

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    hcoffey
    Participant

As a math coach, I am trying to advise my teachers on the expectations of the standards. I understand the most important thing in adding and subtracting mixed numbers is understanding why you do what you do. My 5th grade teachers asked if they are supposed to teach regrouping when adding and subtracting fractions. My thoughts were to advise them to teach it as one strategy, and focus on students understanding of when to use that strategy (when it is efficient and when it is not), rather than teaching regrouping as the way to do it all the time. I would recommend that they also teach students that converting to improper fractions can also be efficient,depending on the problem. Am I on the right track? Any other insights would be appreciated. Thanks!

Bill McCallum
    Keymaster

If I understand the question correctly, you are saying that sometimes students should add fractions expressed as mixed numbers by grouping the whole number parts together and adding them, and grouping the fractional parts together and adding them, and then putting the two results together. And, other times they might just want to expressed the fractions in purely fractional form and add the numbers together in that form. And, they should have some judgement about when to do which.

If that’s what you are saying, then I wholeheartedly agree!

mrsmstweet